Texting and Driving | A Common Malpractice

Studies have found that dialing or answering the phones while driving, distracts the driver and may lead to the cause of an accident while others have found that the actual act of talking over the phone is the main culprit, especially if emotions are involved. A number of states have outlawed handheld cell phone use while driving while some towns and cities have banned certain types of usage over the cell phone while driving.

In the state of Texas, the usage of electronic devices for portable wireless communications for reading, writing or sending electronic messages while operating a motor vehicle unless the vehicle has been stopped has been prohibited starting September, 1st, 2017 and failure to cope, the driver will be charged with a misdemeanor with penalties up to $200 in fines. However, if a driver commits an unlawful wireless device offense that leads to death or serious bodily injury of another person, it will be considered as a class A Misdemeanor with a penalty of $4,000 in fines and a maximum of 1 year in jail.

You should know as well, there are a number of exceptions to Texas’ distracted driving law, and you might be exempt of a fine if you have used your wireless device to:

  • Call on hands-free mode
  • Navigate while using the GPS System
  • For emergency purposes
  • Control your music
  • If you have been wrongfully charged for the usage of a portable wireless communication device, or you have been in an accident caused by the distraction of a driver while using a mobile phone, don’t hesitate to call The J Ramirez Law Group PLLC team to fight for your rights. Call 956-4100-LAW and schedule your FREE Consultation.